Notable Political Blogs? Part 1 of an Irregular Series

As part of the effort to make our blog more visible (and hence relevant), I am looking for other blogs that we can target to interact with and hopefully bring traffic our way.

There are two ways to approach this.  First, the local/regional/state angle.  Let’s find people who care about our issues and also have a stake in this area.  Second, the issue angle.  In that case, we might target blogs or other social media on any geographic level but that are interesting for their political or topical focus.

Now, I am working on the local angle.  First, I went to technorati, a site that tracks blogs.  I searched for Pennsylvania Progressive and Liberal and found the following possibilities.In no order:

  • Agent Ska: Covers many topics in Pittsburg.  Politics, feminism, art, music.  The link is to the posts on politics.
  • Gil Smart’s Smart Remarks Describes himself as a Steelers fan and an avid anti-conservative.  I am not sure what lancaster online is, but he may represent a cross over from homebrew blogging and commercial media.
  • Beaver County Blue: Describes itself as a chapter of PDA (Progressive Democrats of Maerica).  Like us, a multi-author blog.  Where is Beaver County?
  • Scatablog: Six friends who post on many topics, one of whom is in PA.

Finally, Daily Kos, one of the biggest progressive/liberal outlets made up of thousands of users and a cadre of writers who make it to the front page.

  • DAILY KOS on PA: This link takes you to anything by any regsitered user on Daily Kos who added a tag of Pennsylvania to their diary.
This entry was posted in blog admin and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Jordi. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jordi

I am an assistant professor in the Management School at Bucknell University. I specialize in organization theory, social networks, and studying the network society. I have three children, including twins. They love bouncing on the couch, legos, music, and my waffles. My wife teaches English at the same university. I am interested in most things, but these days, networks, social entrepreneurs, the environment, innovation, and virtual worlds. Finding Hidden Abodes and Shaking Iron Cages since 1972

2 thoughts on “Notable Political Blogs? Part 1 of an Irregular Series

  1. Taking my own medicine, I used the nuclear power tag on my own post and found two blogs. One, Robert Singleton, is a new blog.

    The other was by a Time writer, Emily Ruaha. Let’s see if this works. It is interesting that Time.com is using the wordpress platform which means the system automatically recognized me and will link to spilling ink. I think.

Leave a Reply

